Crumpler – someone who crumples

I am now the proud albeit guilty owner of an uber-hyped and over-priced carrier bag from Australian Crumpler brand. Few weeks ago the brand name registered on my cultural radar but never took a foot hold. Water off a duck’s back. A friend bought into the associated hip cache and started talking incessantly about her purchase and before I could say “herd mentality”, I was looking up the website and balking at the prices.

There was something unsightly but attractive about the lurid colours and ridiculous names. Took the plunge and plunked down hard cold cash at the checkout counter and walked away with a Considerable Embarrassment wrapped in a water repellent paper bag. Threw off the bag back home and slung the thing over my shoulder all the while checking myself out in the full length mirror. Narcissus would have turned in his grave if he ever existed.

A warm fuzzy feeling suffused my body. I was now one of the beautiful people. I was a professional with a six figure annual income but individualistic enough to be down with the cognisant. I was of the Man but not of the Man. Now if only I own an Apple laptop to slip into my bag……WAIT! What is this I hear? Oh just another piece of my soul sloughing off as the capitalistic cash register chinks merrily.

9 comments on “Crumpler – someone who crumples

  1. Hello there, normally I rarely write comments on personal sites but this time I am afraid I absolutely have to do so. These days I took the decision to install the latest version of the Google Chrome browser and this Internet site doesn’t render properly ever since. Now the sidebar hides part of the text and I am unable read it. I had a very similar issue with my herbal incense reviews Internet blog and I was able to resolve it by changing the HTML code. Can you please fix it? Thank you very much! Please excuse my English, it’s not my mother language. I’m French 🙂

  2. he!he! i m sure u r not regretting for your overly priced item….. and i m sure u r enjoying it! u need to get a 13-15 inch mac book to go with it……..

  3. Hi there, I must say that Tales from abroad » Blog Archive » Rafting is actually a incredibly superb spot to slack from function I genuinely actually like your blog and I’ve already bookmarked it. Make sure you, sustain it up to date considerably more often. Thank you!

  4. Pingback: The 2011 L.U.C Engine One TourbillonS – (11 Replies) | wow nice watches!

  5. Pingback: Anyone here ever driven the FASTEST racing machine on earth? – (6 Replies) | lovingwatches

  6. Pingback: Girard-Perregaux 220th Anniversary Video – (20 Replies) « welljustmystory

Leave a Reply

