The long arm of Malaysian law

The local police force is corrupt. The incident that happened to me only strengthens my conviction in this infallible truth. My personal experience is of course trivial compared to what some of our politicians are going through right now but I submit that although small, it is symptomatic of a bigger disease that has a stranglehold on our law-enforcers. Rather than protect and serve, they steal and plunder from the common man. I wonder how they sleep at night and what they teach their children.

I was driving home along the highway when my car was pulled over by a few cops at a speed trap. I observed that absolutely all the cars were similarly stopped. This can only mean that all the cars on the highway that day were speeding. A coincidence? Seconds later an overweight policeman swaggered over and informed us that we were caught on camera driving over the speed limit. I protested that we had the car on auto cruise set at 110 km/H. He smirked and said that everyone had said the same thing. He then turned into a Physics professor and gave us an unconvincing theory about how the car will try to speed up when driving up an inclination even though it was on auto cruise. What really got my goat was this.

“Do you want to see the picture, since you TALK SO MUCH?” he said in a huff.

It seems that I have offended him by asking for an explanation. He was obviously in a hurry to get to his next victim and I was delaying him. Realizing that this whole conversation was going no where, I asked him about the price of the fine. He told me that he can either send the summon to my home address which will set me back RM (Malaysian ringgit) 300 or he can settle it on the spot with RM 50. Which option do you think I took?

I admit that I was not paying much attention to my speedometer but I did in all honesty set the auto cruise to the maximum permitted speed limit. I am even willing to say that I may have exceeded the limit at some juncture although I do not remember doing so. Was I wrong in abetting his demand for money? Yes I was but what other options do I have? Demanding to see the picture would have irked him more and he may decide to just send me the bill for RM 300. That’s 6 times more than what he was willing to settle for. Since I do not have access to the billions that Petronas (local oil company) is reported to have raked in since the astronomical rise of petrol, I took the easy and economical way out. So sue me!

What effect will this experience have on my perception of local law enforcement? To put it mildly, negative to the extreme. And since I am not in a charitable mood today, I will go on to say that they are a bunch of incompetent, greedy, dishonest, unprofessional human beings who are beneath even pond scum in the scheme of living things.

2 comments on “The long arm of Malaysian law

Leave a Reply

