The hum of electricity – an insomniac’s reverie

I am no insomniac by any stretch of the imagination but I am a very light sleeper. The tiny sound of a light switch can wake me up in a wink. I love the silence or the lack of sound in the wee hours of the night. Well the lack of big sounds at least.

The creak of the bed, the swish of a turning body against bed sheets, the satisfied breathing of a restful mind, the melodious tinkle of the wind chime hanging in my neighbor’s porch; my mind marinates in it like a weary body in a jacuzzi.

The lack of traffic noise tricks my mind into thinking that society does not exist. We take our respite from modern life anyway we can.  

2 comments on “The hum of electricity – an insomniac’s reverie

Leave a Reply

