One morning in a garage

Epiphany – a sudden, intuitive perception of or insight into the reality or essential meaning of something, usually initiated by some simple, homely, or commonplace occurrence or experience

Of all places, in a car workshop. Surrounded by the smell of grease and rubber, I suddenly asked myself, “Is that it?” After almost 4 decades of life on this planet, what do I have to show for it? Ok this is cliche‘d but I swear it struck me like a train. Being the coward that I am I quickly pushed it out of my head and made a conscious effort to count the number of moles on the mechanic’s forearm.

Without dwelling on it for too long (yes, I am chicken shit), in that moment I felt as if I have reached the limit of what life has to offer me. Beyond this, I was staring at a pointless future of repetition and routine. No more wonder or awe. Every human experience tried and tested. This last statement cannot be true seeing how I am but one human in an infinite sea of possibilities but at that moment that was what I felt.

24 hours later and I am here trying to make some sense out of it. Yikes! Mid-life crisis, here I come!

Leave a Reply

